Be Not Afraid

Whoa! Can you believe it’s August already? I apologize for being MIA lately. I cannot begin to tell you how much change has occurred in such a small period of time. Then again, change is never a bad thing. Here’s a little preview to my shenanigans lately and the thoughts running through my head.

I guess I never really thought of what life would be like after graduation. Would I magically get hired for my dream job? Would I be able to call NYC or LA my new home? Would I have to make a sudden change that could possibly lead to new adventures? I was pretty much open to all opportunities. However, I had to sit down and figure out what it is that I truly intended to get out of my life and career path. I knew a few things, for sure, that I enjoyed working with creative minds, working with numbers (excel sheets don’t bother me), I was comfortable with creating reports, and translating data into useful information (it also helped that I was an Economics major for my undergrad studies). But where could my talents and skills be challenged and reach their full potential?

In the search of my “big girl job” I haven’t necessarily come out empty handed though. Instead, I have come across some great opportunities. Although I do not have a “big girl job” that does not mean that I am not exposed to the “real world”. The “real world” challenges is an all too common theme for me (and many of my friends) but each one of us works around them and succeeds. It’s a state of mind where you give it your all until you become the best version of you. I say “you” because everyone has their own definition of success.  At the end of the day, you should worry about making sure that you are content with who you are becoming.

Believe me, we all get overwhelmed with what we see because we tend to look at our faults instead of our successes. How about this? Grab a pen, paper, and head to a quiet place. Write down the milestones that “you” have overcome over a day, week, month or year. For instance, it can be paying your first bill, cooking your first meal, buying a car, or even passing a summer course. Once you are done, take a step back and look at all that you have accomplished. Best of all, you did it and survived!

In just these past three months, I too have had my share of milestone successes. I attended my first summer camp ever (yeah I know, that’s crazy)! Although I was there, I was technically there to assist the Executive Director will all of the behind-the-scenes projects and become the Savannah Children’s Choir social media guru.  I also had my first ever karaoke experience (everyone said that I can carry a tune so I guess it’s okay for me to sing at wedding’s now). Oh and like most of my adventures, in the end of May, I jumped onto the opportunity to be a part of the Paprika Southern magazine team (in hopes of learning the tricks of the trade in the publication industry). In which case, I have been extremely grateful that they took me in and have allowed me to assist on set and with content creation. I’ve always wanted to intern for a magazine and when the chance presented itself I remember telling myself it’s now or never. So, I went for it and it’s been a blessing ever since. Also, after many car problems, I can finally say that I have reliable transportation again (thank God). Just when I thought grad school would be something that I would postponed until further notice, I received a call for an awesome graduate assistantship opportunity–which of course I took.

The journey ahead is a bit unclear, but then again, if we never take risks we will never know what we are made of. This year I’m looking forward to new adventures, positive changes, and making a difference in the community. At the same time, I look forward to sharing, one at a time, the beautiful stories from those around me.

XOXO,

– Agee  🙂

face

Leave a comment